About that Snow Cone Life

13 May

 

Bakersfield is a city known to experience massive heat waves and make you sweat. The heat isn’t something you can just shake out easily, especially if you don’t own a pool. Ice cream and frozen yogurt are two repetitive options that may not always do the trick in keeping you cool.

 

Photo courtesy of: flickr.com Sno Shacks are easily recognizable because of their cozy-looking blue structure.

Image by: flickr.com
Sno Shacks are easily recognizable because of their cozy-looking blue structure.

Luckily, Sno Shacks open their small windows during the summer and provide deliciously icy treats packed with syrupy goodness. With an arsenal of flavors, Sno Shack can match any palate and any preference. Blue coconut and Tiger’s blood are my personal favorite flavors that I can’t get enough of. Even when I am on the go, there’s always a Sno Shack that I can sneak off to in between classes or while I’m running errands.

 

Image by: flickr.com When you get that unbearably overwhelming hot feeling on a summer day, you can't go wrong with shaved ice.

Image by: flickr.com
When you get that unbearably overwhelming hot feeling on a summer day, you can’t go wrong with shaved ice.

Sno Shack typically has three sizes to choose from and each is affordable in price. It’s a fun experience to mix different flavors or you can indulge in only one favorite flavor. There are some variations of Sno Shack that include other yummy snacks like churros, smoothies, slushies, shakes, coffees and more such as the Sno Biz located on Belle Terrace. Sno Biz offers a sweet twist to the usual snow cone and will let you add a delectable cream sauce atop your shaved ice.

Image by: flickr.com Sno Biz is another shack to visit for shaved ice that also offers a greater variety of other treats.

Image by: flickr.com
Sno Biz is another shack to visit for shaved ice that also offers a greater variety of other treats.

Sno Shacks are located sporadically around Bakersfield, usually in the parking lots of Rite Aid, CVS and gas stations. The Sno Shack I visit the most is at 1107 Calloway. They’re relatively easy to spot. If you’d like to know more locations and their hours of operation, you can click here. Sno Biz is located at 4201 Belle Terrace. For more information on Sno Biz click here.

When I drive through Bakersfield, AC and music blasting to get my mind off the ridiculously hot weather, I see Sno Shack and Sno Biz as blue beacons of hope. I never hesitate to pull over and get myself some shaved ice. I’m about that snow cone life.

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “About that Snow Cone Life”

  1. ryanbarr33 May 24, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    I love Sno Shack! Me and my friends always look forward to the spring/summer time because of them. Ive never heard of Sno Biz, I definitely need to check them out!

  2. dannygudino May 25, 2013 at 1:29 am #

    Good post I like your headline it caught my eye, I’m all about that snow cone life.

  3. ashlanchavez May 25, 2013 at 6:18 am #

    Haha the end of this blog really made me laugh. “I’m about that snow cone life.” My daughter and I really like getting snow cones. She has actually already asked about getting one and I’ve been craving one. We will definitely be visiting a few Sno Shacks this summer.

Leave a comment