Bakersfield just got cooler

12 May

376224_10150983436443121_1314364636_n

(Photo courtesy of Facebook.com)

Some might claim that Bakersfield is dry out of entertainment. For those looking out for something cool to do with these high temperatures, there is some refreshing news. With their grand opening on May 4th, River’s End Rafting & Adventure Company specializes in Whitewater Rafting and Kayaking. They are located in Bakersfield California and are the closest outfitter to the Los Angeles area. The Kern River is located just about 10 minutes from the city. The citizens of Bakersfield are familiar with their local food joint, and movie theatres, but little did they know that there was much more awaiting outside of the city limits.

“We used a Groupon for River’s End Rafting to go white water rafting a few miles below this spot.  It was perfect.  Several rapids to go through, nothing life-threatening, and when we were given the opportunity to swim in a calm part, I got out and paddled along in the river.  That was a highlight for me.  Just letting the river pull me (in my required life jacket) along.  When I swam against the current I stayed in about the same place on the river.  Wonderful.” Stated Sundry, a fan of the Kern River rafting.

River’s End Rafting caters to any group. They have The Blaster and the Master Blaster. The Blaster which is their signature out of their two traveling packages is a 2 hour whitewater rafting tip. This is the perfect trip for everyone. This trip is 3.5 miles which starts from the Kern Canyon and ending near Lake Ming in Bakersfield. Departs    Monday -Saturday 10am, 12:30pm, 3pm, and 5:30pm

For more information on this great adventure visit their webpage at http://www.riversendrafting.com/

2 Responses to “Bakersfield just got cooler”

  1. cbwebb83 May 24, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

    Hi A.Silva,

    This was a really great post and the way you describe your experience make white water rafting fun and exciting. I never realized how close this was to the city, I always though it was at least an hour or so away from Bakersfield. I would love to get my family together and do a trip with them (I’ll have to check to see if Groupon is doing any more deals). Keep up the good work!!

  2. leese18 May 25, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    Wow this sounds like an amazing thing to do on one of my next weekends off! I love to do things outdoors and doing the same things gets boring after a while. I am a huge fan of groupon as well so I will definetly keep my eye out for the next time they offer this deal! What a great way to spend all day in the water when it is blistering hot outside!

Leave a comment