Bakersfield’s newest restaurant, Sushi Moon

20 Apr

 

By: Sandy Ornelas

Photo by Sushi Moon's Facebook page

Photo of decorative sushi by Sushi Moon’s Facebook page

Sushi Moon is one of the newest sushi restaurants in Bakersfield since it’s opening in February of this year.

One of my favorite meals to eat is Sushi, but I have never found a good sushi restaurant in Bakersfield to go to. I have been to a couple of sushi restaurants in Bakersfield, but nothing compares to my absolute favorite sushi restaurant, Full Moon Sushi in Costa Mesa, California.  So, I saw that Sushi Moon was new in town and I decided to give it a try. And I was pleasantly surprised.

When I first walked in Sushi Moon, I was welcomed to a relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant was so elegant and fancy. The restaurant is dark, with the walls painted black and pops of red in the curtains. There are various flowers located all over the restaurant, and beautiful chandeliers hanging from the ceilings. The tables are spacious with comfortable chairs and a small candle on each table. The restaurant is very detailed with a feminine touch.

As an appetizer I received a bowl of miso soup; one of my favorite dishes to order when I go to a sushi restaurant. Miso soup consists of soybean paste, fish stock, seaweed and tofu. This dish sounds odd, but trust me it’s very delicious and healthy.

When I opened the menu, I was overwhelmed with all the choices. Sushi Moon offers more food than any restaurant I have ever been to. There is over 200 items on the menu with a great variety of seafood, sushi, and Korean bbq. I had a hard time choosing what I wanted to order.

Sushi Moon has a Facebook page that provides a full list of the restaurants menu and pictures of their dishes. https://www.facebook.com/SushiMoonBakersfield

When looking at the menu, I decided to go for something I normally wouldn’t order. At sushi restaurants I tend to order the same thing, teriyaki chicken or California rolls because it’s offered at every sushi restaurant I go to and it’s my favorite dish. So this time I decided to try something new. I ordered the crunchy shrimp. The crunchy shrimp consists of shrimp tempura, crab meat, and avocado on the inside and crunchy tempura on the outside. This dish was very delicious and I highly recommend this to anyone that goes to Sushi Moon.

My overall experience at Sushi Moon was great! I loved the food, the atmosphere was relaxing, and the staff was very friendly. I plan on going to Sushi Moon again very soon.

2 Responses to “Bakersfield’s newest restaurant, Sushi Moon”

  1. MultimediaJen April 25, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

    Wow, that sushi art swan looks amazing – can’t wait to try this new restaurant! I love sushi. Have you been to Toro Sushi in The Marketplace? I enjoy their rolls very much.

  2. jonbell2000 May 25, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    I love going to Tokyo garden for sushi but this place sounds great. I must check it out. Good post!!

Leave a Reply

