Entertainment in Bakersfield?

14 Apr

Photo by Jamesdanderfer.com

By: Sandy Ornelas

Various people from Bakersfield say that there is nothing exciting or fun to do in Bakersfield. And I completely agree.

I grew up in Orange County and I moved eight years ago to Shafter. The transition from city life to small town city was very different for me.

Growing up in Santa Ana, California the beach was twenty minutes away, there are a variety of fabulous malls, and numerous, unique restaurants. Here in Bakersfield, the beach is a couple of hours away, there’s only one small mall, and plentiful chain restaurants.

What I love about Orange County is that there is always something to do. Living in Orange County one has the opportunity to decide where they would like to go.

In Bakersfield, there isn’t much of a choice.

One of my favorite places to go here in Bakersfield is the Valley Plaza mall on Ming Avenue. http://www.valleyplazamall.com/

Valley Plaza mall has a great range of stores for people of all ages.

Wikipedia provides a list of places of interest for people who are new to Bakersfield to visit. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sites_of_interest_in_Bakersfield

Honestly, the places that Wikipedia presented do not seem very appealing.

I have been living in Kern County for eight years, but I see nothing that identifies Kern County. The only thing Kern County is well-known for is for producing carrots.

In my opinion, I don’t see Bakersfield as a tourist city. I don’t see people wanting to come to Bakersfield. For example, my immediate family and I always have to visit my extended family in Orange County, yet my extended family never wants to visit us in Kern County.

All in all, small towns are not for me. I grew up in a big city that has plenty to offer.

In the future, I hope to find interesting places in Bakersfield to go to.

One Response to “Entertainment in Bakersfield?”

  1. MultimediaJen April 18, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Thank you for your sincere post about Bakersfield. Hopefully through this website, you’ll find out about some hidden gems in this town 🙂 I do recommend trying a local Basque restaurant, to get a taste of this subculture of Bakersfield. Noriega’s and Wool Growers are two of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

